Motorcycle Insurance in Texas

When it comes to owning a motorcycle in Texas, they are treated much like a vehicle. Not only does a motorcycle need to be registered with your local DMV office, but also you must carry at least state minimum insurance. Specific to Texas, this means that you must have at least the following liability limits:

  • $30,000 for each injured person
  • $60,000 per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident

Keep in mind that these are just minimums, and many Texas residents opt for additional insurance because it provides peace of mind and financial protection if an accident occurs. In addition to insurance, motorcycle drivers and passengers are required by Texas law to wear a helmet if under the age of 21. If older than 21, you are still required to wear a helmet unless you’ve completed an accredited motorcycle safety course or have health insurance that specifically provides coverage for medical bills and care associated with a motorcycle accident. While you are not required to wear any additional safety gear other than a helmet, it doesn’t hurt to protect your body with items like eye protection and resilient clothing that provide cushion during an accident. Obtaining a motorcycle license, otherwise known as a Class M license in Texas, varies depending on your age and whether you already have a driver’s license; however, you can expect to need to meet the following conditions:

  • Provide a valid Social Security number
  • Show proof of insurance
  • Provide proof of U.S. citizenship and Texas residency

Driving a motorcycle is quickly becoming an exciting and popular activity in Texas, with plenty of exciting roads and adventures to go on. With that said, having adequate insurance is imperative, and the friendly team at the Boss Insurance Agency is ready to help. Conveniently located in Kingwood, TX, we are ready to help you find the perfect insurance policy for your needs, so give us a call today to learn more.